Knitting Vintage!

Hello everyone 🙂

So far my January has been like every other January I’ve ever had……well except maybe the one when I was 21 and me and my bestie went to Barcelona for a week, that was pretty amazing 😛 Anyway I know we are only 7 days in so I can’t really start complaining!! I hope you have all had a wonderful start to your years!!

So for Christmas I was given this really lovely book called Knitting Vintage. I was pretty pleased with it as no one ever buys me craft stuff for Christmas and this was something I’d never even considered before!!

Knitting Vintage.

Its full of knits from the 1920’s right up to the 1980’s.  It has all the usual stuff like leg warmers, tank tops, twin sets and even patterns for dresses!! There are a couple of garments I would never even consider wearing but some of them I actually would, which is exciting 😀 So I spent today trying to decide what would be best to make!! The biggest most complicated pattern I’ve ever made was a babies cardigan so this time I want to branch out and make myself something like a cardigan or a jumper!!

I have it down to two patterns. A Breton style stripe jumper and a little round neck jumper!! I don’t have pictures of the patterns at the moment but I will take some soon so you can all see!! I think the round neck jumper is winning at the moment……this could be because the one in the book is knitted in red wool and I REALLY like red but I am going to try to knit it in a completely different colour!!

In crafting news, I have a week off from work so I am planning to make as many little knitty things for my shop as is humanly possible! I am also determined to get GOOD pictures of them and somehow magically spread the word of my little shop……hmmmmmm 😛

Hope you have all had a lovely weekend!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carmen
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 22:21:39

    Ooh! Will watch with interest! Love when I get any books at Christmas but when they are crafty – all the better!

    Reply

  2. yyam
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 01:54:02

    Well…enjoy your week off and good luck on the knitting! Hope you get lots done for your store!

    Reply

  3. Theanne
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 00:29:08

    love the Knitting Vintage book Carol…I have a knitting book from the 60s that has a lovely knit top I’d like to find the courage to try! I knit loose so have a terrible time with “guage”…I made a sweater for Don once that was huge…the sleeves practically hung to his knees…he admired it (but never wore it 😉

    Reply

  4. Maggi
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 16:41:24

    Oooooo that book looks awesome! I always want to knit for one thing: the vintage knitting patterns (or vintage-esque) are so cool! Good luck, can’t wait to see what you make!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Flickr Photos

Mothers Day Bubbles

Art, Heart & Healing

ice cream media case

Marshmallow Delight!

Pink Phone cover.

More Photos

Tweets from my Twitter-verse!

