I beat Rita…….Queen of Speed!!!!

Hello everyone πŸ™‚

This weekend has been a bit madcap!! More cleaning and sorting of my old bedroom, a family visit, a trip to Alton Towers and various craft projects I need to finish up before we move in a week or so :-S Not enough hours in the day, really πŸ˜›

So this post is about my trip to Alton Towers (for those of you who don’t know this is a theme park here in England!!)! I don’t really go to theme parks as I have a thing about rollercoasters!! In my mind I want to go on them but I can’t handle the anticipation of the slow climb up the first hill and I start to panic…..really not a pretty sight!!

Me, David and Laura!

The weather wasn’t great and my hair really didn’t like this…..hence the big fizzy mess on my head haha!! This was before any of the rides or anything!! Anyway I promised myself I would try my very best to go on some cool rides! I only ever go on the Log Flume and the River Rapids….and considering the cost this is very bad πŸ˜› We decided to head towards 13 first as it’s quite new, on our way we passed Rita, Queen of Speed and it was decided that this would be the first ride…….so I join the que and try very hard not to panic πŸ˜›

RITA!

The idea behind Rita is that you shoot off at like 100mph or something (I don’t know the actual speed) rather than climb slowly up the first hill! I had to take my glasses off and everything which was a bit weird as I couldn’t really see much haha….maybe that helped! I started to slightly regret my decision as they came round and fastened me in but I just closed my eyes very tight and hoped for the best! Jeez its fast πŸ˜› I mean I knew it would be fast but it really is fast πŸ˜› I didn’t make a sound the entire time I just kept my eyes closed and told myself it would be over soon haha!! It’s quite sad but I’m actually really proud of myself……I wasn’t sure I’d be able to do it!!

This is how we looked on Rita Queen of Speed!!

I had to get the photo just to prove I went on the damn thing haha!! Seriously how funny do we look?? I don’t think I moved from this position the whole time!! I think I would go on it again, now I know it’s not awful and I’m not going to die haha!! I must have used up all my reserves on that ride though as I couldn’t persuade myself on to any of the other big ones 😦 One look at the slow climb up the first hill on air made me feel a bit sick….hopefully next time coz I plan to collect these………..

My Medal πŸ˜€

Yes I actually bought myself a medal haha!! I know this is very sad but I don’t care I love it πŸ˜› They have one for all the big rides so wish me luck collecting them πŸ˜‰

It was a pretty good day out apart from the torrential rain…I’m not good with rain but I think I did ok at the not moaning thing!! I ended up on Dual (a ghost train were you shoot things and get a score, we discovered that John needs to get out more and stop playing Call of Duty on the PS3 :-P), Log Flume, River Rapids (got soaked on both!!), the runaway mine train and these waltzers type things that you spun yourself!!

Well anyway my rambling about my accomplishment is over πŸ˜› How are you all with rollercoasters etc?? I hope I’m not the only one who chickens out πŸ˜›

Good night all πŸ™‚

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carmen
    May 25, 2011 @ 21:43:30

    I’m definitely with you. When we went to Disneyland I only did Thunder Mountain (apart from the tame kids rides) and I screamed the whole way round! Devvie wanted them to stop it so she could get off and Pheebs just laughed like a maniac round the whole thing. Have promised Pheebs when we go again next year I’ll *try* some of the big ones with her as no-one else will do them. Ooer – I may come back traumatised!

    LOVE that piccie of you with eyes squeezed shut!

    Reply

  2. Jackie
    May 26, 2011 @ 18:47:34

    It’s funny I am the same way with Rollercoasters…I can’t handle them! I really love your medal and the picture is awesome!

    Reply

  3. Theanne
    May 29, 2011 @ 17:12:42

    I don’t like the slow ride to the top either…but after that it’s a rush! The rides I especially don’t like are the ones that have you do 2 or more motions at the same time like up and down and round and round…makes me nauseous…not a good thing! I say CONGRATULATIONS on your achievement…eyes shut or not you did it! Love the medal…very nice…look forward to seeing your collection!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Flickr Photos

Mothers Day Bubbles

Art, Heart & Healing

ice cream media case

Marshmallow Delight!

Pink Phone cover.

More Photos

Tweets from my Twitter-verse!

