WIP……Illusion knitting is fun!

I had fully intended to write a really cool/exciting/witty (:-P) post today but my day has rapidly gone downhill and now I’m not in the mood 😦

 

Work In progress Wednesday

I won’t bore you too much with th details but basically by the beginning of August I will more than likely not have a house to live in and will have to move AGAIN!! This is the 3rd house we have been in, in about the same amount of years and I’m totally FED UP 😦 I hate moving, I hate settling in to a new place!! Not to mention that this place was part furnished so we don’t have a bed, fridge or freezer…..looks like we may not be going on hols in Sept like we had planned 😦 We also have a kitty now and a lot of rented places won’t allow pets…..i don’t care what anyone says I am not giving my cat away!!!

 

Lupin Cat!

 

Ok so rant over!! Back to my Work in Progress!! I decided to pick up and try to finish some of my illusion knitting I started an age ago!! Because it’s not for anyone or anything it usually gets shoved to the back of the cupboard πŸ˜› But I really enjoy this type of knitting so I thought it might cheer me up a bit!!

 

Cat Illusion knit!

 

I think I may have used this picture before….but I haven’t gone any further and I couldn’t be bothered getting my camara out…haha such a stroppy teenager πŸ˜› I’m hoping to one day make an illusion knit scarf that I can actually wear and stuff!! I should probably start that about now!! haha!!

If you want a list of Illusion Knit patterns and instructions then try HERE, I got a few of mine from here!! I also found this site that has tried to make its own charts so you can make more complicated pictures HERE.Β  I am most definitely going to check that out!! If you just Google Illusion Knit (or shadow knit) then a multitude of sites will pop up πŸ™‚

Don’t forget to check out the other lovely WIP…..as usual some pretty cool stuff happening around and about!!

 

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carmen
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 15:06:33

    I always love seeing your illusion knits – I had never seen anything like them before I visited your blog *g*

    Reply

  2. Carmen
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 15:06:56

    p.s hope your home situation gets sorted for you soon 😦

    Reply

  3. Danielle
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 15:34:14

    your illusion knit is awesome!! πŸ™‚ and your kitty is beautiful!! i wouldnt rehome, mine ether (((hug)))

    Reply

  4. blankeyindustries
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 15:42:50

    I love your cat scarf and your beautiful kitty.

    Reply

  5. kala
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 16:19:19

    Sorry about your house situation, moving is so stressful! But your scarf looks great, I have yet to try illusion knitting.

    Reply

  6. Carole
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 16:55:30

    Sorry to hear about having to move and all that goes with it. I hope you find somewhere that ticks all your boxes especially the cat one.

    I love the scarf, I don’t think I could ever begin to try illusion knitting.

    Reply

    • cazhugs
      Apr 14, 2011 @ 19:39:30

      Its a lot easier than it looks!! Once you wrap your head round the charts its fine! i think you can get written instructions for most patterns too!

      Reply

  7. Marushka
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 17:24:27

    Your illusion scarf is great! That’s a technique I haven’t tried. The one time I looked at a pattern for it, I was too intimidated. I hope you’ll have some time to work on it this week — maybe that beautiful kitty will help inspire you. So sorry about the house moving, that’s never fun. I hope it all works out for the best — good luck!

    Reply

  8. affiknitty
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 18:39:34

    The kitty scarf looks great. I only tried illusion knitting once before when I made the Alien Scarf out of the Stitch & Bitch book for my mother-in-law, and she loved it. I like how the colors are swapped in the second half of your kitty scarf. I hope working on it does cheer you up.

    Reply

  9. Jacque
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 19:41:33

    So cool!

    Reply

  10. nothingbutknit2
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 20:00:47

    I’m sorry your living situation is causing you so much stress. Hopefully it will all straighten itself out.
    Your kitty is so cute!
    I love your illusion scarf! It’s coming along beautifully.

    Reply

  11. feresaknit
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 21:52:39

    Love the effect of the scarf. I’ve seen illusion knitting before and contemplated knitting a pair of arm warmers that showed the arm bones but forgot about it. Maybe you’ll like the next property even more (skimming quickly over any associated hassle).

    Reply

    • cazhugs
      Apr 14, 2011 @ 19:42:07

      ooo those gloves sound fab!! I might have to give that one a go myself πŸ˜‰ yeah maybe we will find our dream place…..hmmmm πŸ˜›

      Reply

  12. Tami
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 03:41:22

    I LOVE illusion knitting. I’ve never tried it but have a few patterns saved on my Rav queue when I have time. Your project looks amazing.

    About the moving…I feel your pain. Between my husband and I (before we were married), we moved every year, even after we were living together. Finally we bought a condo and have been here for 5 years as of the 20th of this month. Thank god for not moving. You’ll finally find a place and settle. It’s awesome when you do.

    Reply

  13. Yyam
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 03:53:02

    Loving the knits! Bummer about having to move…:(

    Reply

  14. Theannne
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 18:38:27

    I really enjoy seeing your illusion knitting…neat stuff! Sorry about the possibility of moving again…I know it’s stressful!

    Reply

  15. Jackie
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 21:03:40

    oh that sucks you having to move again, and I don’t blame you for not wanting to give up your cat! They become a part of the family…I would be so upset if I had to give up my pets.

    And I LOVE your Cat Illusion knit, it ROCKS!!!

    Also I hope you don’t mind I couldn’t find a follow button on your blog…so I added you to my blog roll so I can find you easily πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Flickr Photos

Tweets from my Twitter-verse!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

