I made Doughnut Cupcakes……..

“A Doughnut Cupcake?” I hear you cry “Why Yes” I cry back!! I decided to try something completely different and make super cool doughnut cupcakes! To be fair I had no clue they were super cool at the time but it turns out they are 😀

 

My Batter!

 

I was all set to type out the recipe for you guys but I’ve misplaced the book :-S I don’t know how this has happened as I don’t have a big kitchen…or even house 😛 The general gist was to beat together butter, sugar, eggs, flour, milk and baking powder to make a nice smooth batter.  Fill up the cupcake/muffin cases two-thirds of the way and then add a blob of jam into the center!!

 

Jam Blobs!

 

I didn’t have Strawberry jam so I used raspberry!! The recipe is for 12 but I only have a 6 hole bun tin…..a bit annoying but better than the bun tin I had before….my muffin cases didn’t even fit in the damn thing 😛 Anyway the next step was to cover the jam blob with a bit more of the batter then place in the over (I think it was gas mark 4) for 25 mins or untill golden brown!! You then melt some butter, cover you doughnut cupcakes with it and crush a sugar cube over it…I didn’t have a sugar cube so I just used normal sugar…it kind of dissolved a bit!! Retrospectively i should have expected that!!

 

Ta-da...finished doughnut cakes!!

And here they are….my finished doughnut cakes 😀 I took a few for my mum and dad but John ate the rest 😛 I bake quite a bit but I’m not a huge fan of cakes so it’s usually up to John to eat them……..i think he thinks I’m trying to make him put weight on 😛

 

 

Me and John!

 

Someone said they like to see Pics of the people I Blog about so here is a pic of John…..he will kill me if he sees this so lets all keep it our little secret 😉 It’s not a great picture but its the most recent one I have!! It’s from around my Birthday in December!! I really could do with a tan *cringe* 😛 Even when i “tan” I don’t actually look like I’ve tanned! I am not made for the sun!!

Whilst out shopping with my Mum she treated me to a new Cupcake book (love my mum!!).  It’s The Humming Bird Bakery book.  I can’t wait to give some of them a go!! I’m going to be brave and try frosting…..like decorative frosting *gulp* I can’t see that ending well!!

 

The Hummingbird Bakery Cupcakes and Muffins!

I got this picture from good old Amazon!! I love Amazon! In fact I have a £16 gift voucher to spend there…..off i go for a little browse 🙂 Woo!! I realise I haven’t really done much crafting Blogs recently…I’m hoping to change all that soon!! I’m a bit behind and I’m blaming work haha!! I have lots of projects in the pipeline….watch this space!!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggi
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 23:01:20

    Ooooo, those are looking good!!!! *drool*

    Reply

  2. Carmen
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 00:15:36

    Om nom nom nom! Oooh shouldn’t look at this whilst I’n in the Slimming World ‘zone’ I will blame you if I wobble off the wagon!

    Reply

  3. Jacque
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 01:19:58

    YES!!! Thanks for the picture!!! WOOT! WOOT!

    My dd and I are going to try these cupcake doughnuts!!! YUMMY!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Flickr Photos

Tweets from my Twitter-verse!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

