Family Tree (of doooooooom!!)

A little while back my Mum told me that some family solicitor guy had sent her a copy of her family tree!! She was sooo excited and to be honest so was I πŸ˜› I love all that sort of stuff! There were so many family members we didn’t even know existed!! It goes right back to the 1800’s!! So I took it upon myself to take this Family Tree, which the guy had completed in word, and make it all cool and stuff in Photoshop……..that was about 6 months ago and I’m STILL trying to do it!! I want it to be a surprise for Mum so I keep having to tell her I can’t do it!!

My immediate family is really quite small.Β  My Mum only has one sister, my Dad has no brothers or sisters and neither do I! My Auntie had 3 kids but only one of them has had any Children! It’s pretty easy to keep up with them all πŸ˜›

 

Me and Dad!

 

This is me and my Dad…yes he is a little shorter than me which is funny as I’m only 5ft2 and a bit πŸ˜› This was taken last year so he is 75 in this photo!! People say I look like him but I don’t see it?!?!

 

Me and Mum!

 

This is me and Mum……can you believe she is only 4ft10 πŸ˜› I’m actually the tallest in my house haha!! We never have any pictures of the three of us as it only tends to be the three of us together and someone has to hold the camara πŸ˜› I haven’t really met many members of my family as a lot of them have sadly passed away.Β  My Mum and dad are quite old considering I’m 27 and I don’t have any sisters or brothers! I never met my Grandad on dad’s side or my Nan on my Mum’s side and the other two grandparents passed away when I was quite young!! We do. however, have a big ginger cat that scares the living daylights out of me!!

 

Loki in a Box!

He may look cute all tucked up in this box…but he really isn’t!! Or should I say wasn’t πŸ˜› Age has definitely mellowed him haha!! He still won’t let you stroke him though…or sit on your knee, and he demands to be fed or heads will roll…my dad must have the patience of a saint!!

 

Anyway back to this damn family tree!! I originally thought I could fit it all on to an A4 piece of paper (we only have an A4 printer here).Β  After painstakingly writing each line for each family member on a separate layer in Photoshop I discovered this was not going to work! I can’t describe to you how frustrated I was πŸ˜› It took me months to figure out I couldn’t do it…..I feel like I’ve lost a few days of my life there!! Then there is the background! I had visions of a really cool faded tree in the background……can I get it to look right? Hell Nooooooooo! Maybe I can try to make it look like a scroll?? I’m disappointed that the image in my head isn’t working out!!! Boooooo!

My plan now is to make it on a bigger canvas and send it to somewhere like Snapfish or Photobox to print out….I mean at the end of the day it’s just pixels right?? I would really like to get it done before Mothers day, i think she would really love it πŸ™‚

Photoshop of the day……

 

Jammy Writing!

This is a birthday card I made for a friend of my mum’s son!! I was really pleased with this πŸ˜€ I’m planning on using it for a few more cards in the future πŸ˜‰

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jacque
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 21:42:42

    Thanks for posting the pics – I love putting faces with the people you blog about! Great job on the card and good luck on the family tree!

    Reply

  2. Theanne
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 04:45:42

    Enjoyed the photos, to me you look like your Mom and your Dad, but you look a lot like your Dad around the eyes! Do you have any pictures of him when he was closer to your age? That would be great if you could see how he looked when a young man. The family tree would be a great thing for your Mom, hope you can get it figured out so you can give it to her. Sounds like Loki rules the house…but then don’t most cats…*smile*

    Reply

    • cazhugs
      Feb 21, 2011 @ 20:44:58

      Hmmm I have seen some pics of my dad at my age….dancing in a dance hall in the 1950’s!! i will have to try and find them!!! haha yeah cats do indeed rule the roost!! My mum always says if you want the best seat in the house you have to move the cat!!

      Reply

  3. Carmen
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 11:16:36

    What an amazing project. I wouldn’t even know where to start with Photoshop – can’t wait to see the finished project (if you decide to post it) Your Mum will love it.

    My OH is in a similar family situation. He will be 30 this year and his Dad will be 81. He does have older half brothers but he doesn’t really feel like he know them as they are so much older than him so he does feel like an only child. I too can see the resemblance around the eyes with you and your Dad *g*

    Reply

    • cazhugs
      Feb 24, 2011 @ 20:42:35

      Two peas in a pod…thats how someone described us haha!! So either I look like a 77 year old man or he looks like a 27 year old girl haha!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Flickr Photos

Mothers Day Bubbles

Art, Heart & Healing

ice cream media case

Marshmallow Delight!

Pink Phone cover.

More Photos

Tweets from my Twitter-verse!

