Behold the Ninja Bread Men…..

No no you did hear me right, NINJA BREAD MEN!! I did a bit of baking the other day and finally got round to do my gingerbread men! As previously stated i’ve never actually managed to make a decent biscuit yet so I had everything crossed…..plus it was a great excuse to use my really cool measuring spoons that look like Russian Dolls!!

 

Baking Supplies!

 

So I’ve decided to type the recipe out in case anyone wants to use it. It’s from GoodFood 101 Cupcakes and small bakes which is a really good little book! I’m a complete beginner and I have no trouble at all following it!!

Double-ginger gingerbread men

140g/5oz unsalted butter

100g/4oz dark muscovado sugar

3 tbsp golden syrup

350g/12oz plain flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 balls stem ginger from a jar, chopped

To decorate

50g/2oz icing sugar

a few undyed glace cherries, halved then thinly sliced

2 balls stem ginger, cut into small squares

1) Preheat oven to 200c fan/gas 6. Line baking sheets with baking parchment. Melt butter, sugar and syrup in a pan. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl then stir in the butter mix and chopped ginger to make a stif-ish dough.

 

My stif-ish dough!

 

2) When cool, roll to about 5mm thick. stamp out gingerbread men, re-rolling the trimmings. Lift on tot he baking sheets and bake for about 12 mins or until golden brown. Cool for 10 mins, then lift on to wire cooling racks.

 

Cooling my gingerbread men!

3) To decorate, mix icing sugar with a few drops of water until thick and smooth. Spoon the icing into a food bag, snip off just the tiniest bit from one of the corners, then squeeze buttons, eyes and little smiles on to the gingerbread men. Stick on cherry smiles and ginger buttons.  leave to set. Will keep for up to one week in an air tight container.

 

This is where I went a little crazy with mine……… 🙂

 

NINJA BREAD MEN!!!!

 

I got a set of cookie cutters a while back that cut your gingerbread in to the shapes of Ninja’s!! I am SO pleased with these little guys!! The icing bit was tedious though I’ll be honest 😛 I used squeezy icing out of a tube coz I thought it would be easier……..but for some reason it wouldn’t squeeze out of the damn tube properly! I ended up with a very sore thumb and back ache 😛 I don’t actually like Gingerbread so I have no clue how they taste…but really I don’t mind coz every time I look at them I smile a bit 😀

And to my Photoshop of the day………

 

It's all about the Gaussian Blur!

This is me and my pal Laura (at a Jimmy Eat World gig)! I tried to give us a dream like quality using Gaussian Blur…I kinda like the way it came out!! Softens my rough edges haha!!

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Flickr Photos

Mothers Day Bubbles

Art, Heart & Healing

ice cream media case

Marshmallow Delight!

Pink Phone cover.

More Photos

Tweets from my Twitter-verse!

