Playing with Photoshop….it’s what I do!

So today I actually completed something in Photoshop!! This is the first time I’ve donet hat in a while what with Christmas and stuff!! And it’s so dreary here today I just thought to hell with it I’m not going out I’m going to stay in and do something fun!! lets not forget I’m a complete novice at Photoshop but I gave it my best shot haha!!

So here is my start image….

 

My little boat image!

 

I actually took that picture myself at Chester Zoo on a little boat ride thingy they do! I must admit the boat ride was definitely more fun when I was younger!! Chester Zoo is one of my fave places to go in the summer! I go pretty much every year…much to the annoyance of my Boyfriend who can’t understand it all 😛 Well I enjoy it anyway!!

The idea of this Photoshop piece I’m doing is to create a mixed media style painting without using brushes (Which is good as I can’t paint or draw AT ALL!!).

 

Line Drawing

 

The idea is to use filters mixed together to create the effect! The above photo is in the process of becoming a line type drawing! I’m not sure I chose the right photo as the end one is all a little….green 😛

 

First Filter

 

The filters used included glowing Edges, paint daubs, angled strokes, palette knife, rough pastels and dry brush (I think that was most of them!!).  You’re usually advised not to use the filters as they are a little clumsy for most professionals but they do for me 😛

Near the End!

It only took about 2.5 hours which isn’t too bad! I usually take way over the time it says its going to take and I usually stay away from the tutorials that say like 5+ hours haha!! I get scared that I’ll forget what I’m doing if I have to come back to it and then it would all be ruined!

And so here is my finished picture!! It’s not the best thing I’ve ever done but at least it wasn’t a complete disaster!!

 

Mixed Media Boat!

I definitely think I should have picked a different photo…….must have a look through my database for something better and maybe try again 🙂

And just to finish off with some shameless self promotion…….

 

Red Heart Brooch!

You can find this in my Etsy shop Snow Bunny’s Knits along with some other bits and bobs 🙂

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Theanne
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 04:46:13

    I like what you did with the boat photo in Photoshop…very interesting! Heart is so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Flickr Photos

Tweets from my Twitter-verse!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

