Just add Glitter and Stir (Good advice!)

I don’t know about you, but i find the Blogasphere can be a lonely place when you first start out!! You think to yourself….is anyone actually reading this stuff, does anyone care?? I’m sort of still in that place right now…still finding my feet etc but then I bumped into this Blog….Just Add Glitter and Stir! Not only does it have a super fun name but it looks so cute too! The Lady in Charge has been so nice to me and so helpful, I feel slightly less alone than I did!! I recently asked her how she got into Blogging, why she Blogged etc and she was kind enough to write this for your viewing pleasure…….

Hi everyone!

My name is Maggi and I have a blog called Just Add Glitter and Stir. I’ve been blogging there for just over 2 years but have been blogging as a whole since 2006. I really love blogging and the cool people that I’ve gotten to meet through this community, including the awesome cazhugs here at Little Red Crafting Corner! She asked me to drop by and talk a little bit about why I blog which was sooooo funny because since I just celebrated my 2 year blogoversary at Just Add Glitter and Stir, this is a topic I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. 🙂

My first blog (started back in 2006) was all about my adventures in video gaming. I love playing video games (it’s how my husband and I met after all) but I never posted anything of a super personal nature there. When you’re writing about video games, your readers don’t really care to hear about your latest manicure or family stories. lol In 2008 I had my first child and wanted an outlet to talk about her and my crafty times, including scrapbooking so Just Add Glitter and Stir was born!

In a nutshell, that’s why I started my blog. I just wanted to talk about anything I felt like instead of making it all about gaming. I wasn’t expecting anyone to visit me, let alone leave a comment so when I got my first comment I was over the moon! I decided to start looking around and find my very own “blogging community” of like-minded bloggers. Cut to 2 years later and I now visit foodies, fashion designers, vintage addicts, scrapbookers, crochet/knitters, mommies, mixed media artists and hundreds of others with a myriad of interests and talents from all over the world. I’ve learned so much from these bloggers: great recipes to new artsy techniques to just making great friends that feel as close to me as my “real life” friends.

For me, that’s what blogging is all about: community. No matter where your interest, talent or hobby lies, “There’s a blog for that”. lol Blogging is an easy way to meet people you would never meet otherwise. You can form a connection through blogging that really makes you feel like you’re a part of something. Everyone wants to “belong” somewhere and blogging can be one way to make that happen. It’s a lot of work: writing posts that are interesting to your readers and visiting others and leaving them comments. It doesn’t happen overnight, that’s for sure! But if you keep blogging along and stay open to the possibilities, anything is possible! 🙂

So that’s just a little bit about why I blog! 🙂 Please feel free to come visit me at Just Add Glitter and Stir anytime! Thank you cazhugs for letting me take over your blog for a bit! lol 😀

Happy blogging everyone! 🙂

Maggi

So there you have it! I don’t even recall how I found this blog but I’m really glad I did!! I really admire this Blog and hope that my Blog will one day match up to it!! I highly recommend you check out this lovely friendly Blog for your fix of cute/real life 😛 You never know you might make a friend or two too!!

And just for fun here is my Daily Photoshop attempt….

Pretty Hummingbird

As usual it is from a tutorial in Photoshop Creative Magazine which really caught my eye! I’m hoping to one day use my own photos with a similar effect….just got to find the right photo 😛

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggi
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 15:18:14

    Ooooooo, that’s me!!! lol Thanks again for asking me to guest, I had so much fun and have no doubt your blog will grow and grow!

    Another great Photoshop project! I need to check out that magazine! lol

    Reply

  2. vicki
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 10:57:25

    hi caz,
    nice blog – welcome to the world of blogging, it’s fab!!! great person to have do a guest post – maggi rocks!!! good luck making your way around blog-land xx

    Reply

  3. yyam
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 12:03:31

    Welcome to the blogging world! It can be a really rewarding journey…like making cool friends like Maggi! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Carmen
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 19:52:17

    Helllooooooooooooo cazhug! Well now you happened upon one of the craziest and loveliest bloggers there. I just found you via Maggi’s blog and I agree with everything you said about her.

    You’ll soon get in the swing of things – it is daunting at first. My advice would be to visit blogs that interest you but don’t just lurk – leave a comment or two – people usually return the favour and then that’s how friendships start to grow and form. I’ve met some amazing people via Blogland – you’re in for such a fun ride 🙂

    Reply

    • cazhugs
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 20:37:08

      aww thank you for stopping by 🙂 Its nice to see new people!! haha oh i’ve read about not lurking….would hate to be described as a lurker….its not cool 😛 I know I haven’t been here so long so i’m just gonna keep on Blogging 🙂

      Reply

  5. Theanne Crossett
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 19:52:46

    Enjoyed your blog…currently RED is my favorite color! I absolutely adore “sack man”! And your ART…photos and those tweaked with or created in Photoshop! I’m adding you to blogs I follow and look forward to your future posts! Come over and visit me anytime, available 24/7…know what it’s like to be a “newby”…I’ve been a blogspot/blogger newby twice…first when I came on with “Annie’s 25×25 Garden”, about a little garden I had for my bedridden husband to enjoy out his window. He died in 2009 and after the initial months of grief had almost consumed me I decided I needed a project and chose to update “Annie’s” to “Theanne and Baron…starting over…living life without Don” which as time went by I downsized the name to “Theanne and Baron”, I didn’t want it to become just a site for widows. Enjoy yourself, meeting people from all over the world is fun and a definite learning experience!

    Reply

    • cazhugs
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 20:39:25

      Oh i’m so glad red is your fave colour….its been mine forever 😛 I will definitely stop by your Blog. It sounds like you have been through a lot! Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂

      Reply

  6. Jacque4u2c
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 00:58:52

    Welcome to the blogging world! It can be a really rewarding circle of friends. People that have your back and you have never even met them! Maggi is awesome and I look forward to getting to know you too! WELCOME!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Flickr Photos

Tweets from my Twitter-verse!

